DUI Criminal Defense In Henrietta

Being pulled over for drunk driving can be a stressful and humiliating experience. A DUI charge in Georgia can result in jail time, fines, court-ordered substance abuse treatment, installation of an ignition interlock device and community service. In addition to the criminal penalties you face, you are at risk of losing your driver’s license and increased auto insurance premiums. In fact, you have just 30 days from the date of your arrest to challenge your license suspension.  

Beating a DUI Charge

Whether this is your first DUI or you’re a repeat offender, it’s imperative to seek legal representation. Here are just some of the ways I can help: 

  • Negotiate with the prosecution to get DUI charges reduced to avoid serious penalties. 
  • Use legal arguments to prove that the results of the field sobriety tests and/or blood alcohol test are flawed.
  • Protect your driving privileges by sending an appeal letter to the Georgia Department of Driver’s Services requesting an  Administrative License Suspension. I will represent you at this hearing 
  • Challenge the constitutionality of the traffic stop, your arrest, and police protocol

Conviction Penalties for DUI in Georgia

First offense DUI (no prior DUIs) — Misdemeanor

  • $300-1,000 fine
  • driver’s license suspension for up to one year
  • 40 hours community service
  • Up to one year in jail
  • Clinical evaluation for drug and alcohol dependency

Second offense DUI (one prior DUI) — Misdemeanor

  • 3-365 days in a county jail and/or probation
  • $600-$1,000 fines
  •  30 days of community service
  •  license suspension up to three years
  •  possible mandatory ignition interlock device
  • clinical evaluation for drug and alcohol dependency

 

Third offense DUI (two prior DUIs) — Misdemeanor

  •  up to one year in jail
  • $1,000-$5,000 in fines
  •  30 days of community service
  •  license suspension up to five years
  •  possible mandatory ignition interlock device
  •  clinical evaluation for drug and alcohol dependency

Fourth offense DUI — Felony 

  • 1 – 5 years in state prison (5 years of probation minus time served)
  • $5000 in fines
  • Minimum of 480 hours (60 days) of community service
  • 17 weeks of treatment in drug and alcohol dependency program
  • 20-hour Risk Reduction Program approved by the Georgia DDS
  • License revocation
  • Possible mandatory ignition interlock device